top of page
  • Writer's pictureRachel Anderson

2022 Men’s Club Championship History: George Desear Wins 20th Title

Updated: May 10, 2022

Member since the 1970's, George Desear has done it again! Across six decades, Desear has claimed victory on his 20th Men’s Club Championship at Bradenton Country Club on Sunday, May 1st, 2022.

Mr. Desear has distinguished himself as the most winning Men’s Club Champion in the club history. He currently has held the title 20 times over 6 decades, winning 12 of them consecutively between 1997-2008. Additionally, he held the course record of 64 before the course was renovated in 1999, and then set the new course record of 63 shortly following the re-opening. In 2017, he also won the Florida State Senior Amateur Championship held at Bradenton Country Club.

This past Club Championship held on Sunday, May 1st , 2022 was a match like no other. After going into a sudden death hole the day prior versus Tim Collins to advance to the finals, himself and his new opponent, Rich Clover, went into the 18th hole par 3 even after a neck and neck round. Both players had tee shots that landed in the bunker, but Desear had the proper chip and fabulous putt to claim his 20th title that Sunday afternoon with a final of UP 1.

Years of previous victories: 1975, 1976, 1984, 1993, 1994, 1995, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2018

As a Bradenton Country Club family, we are extremely proud of George Desear’s lifetime accomplishments!

Want in on the action? Click here to learn more about our golf memberships and other membership available at Bradenton Country Club.

264 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page